Do you think there’s an evolutionary reason that babies are cute? I mean, seriously–think if they weren’t. These little wobbly balls of flesh and spit up, screaming at all hours of the night, wanting to be fed constantly and crapping all over you at the slightest provocation? Yeah, they’d better be damned cute. If they weren’t, I think our species would have died out long ago, countless new generations pitched into deep ravines by crazed, sleep-deprived Cave-Moms. (Cuz you know that Cave-Dads would NOT get up in the middle of the night for the baby. No way, nohow. Thank god for the New Age Sensitive Man.)

And you know what else these cute little babies do? They make you finish up your knits for them.

alice in sweater

I mean, really. The gall.

Okay okay, so the sweater as modeled above by the precious and charming little Alice was not finished when I visited the Virginia branch of my family three weeks ago. But it is now. Dammit.

sweater bootie combo

See? I even made a pair of booties to match.

baby booties

Am I rockin this cute baby shit or what? Love the buttons.

crochet loops

I had forgotten to put in buttonholes while I was knitting the sweater. (Which incidentally was back in May. Ahem.) So I just added some crochet stuff to the edge. Wah-la. Cuteness abounds.

i heart natural light

Now I just have to mail it off before she outgrows it.

Deets:

Sweater pattern is EZ’s Baby Sweater on Two Needles, aka February Baby Sweater. Yarn is Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport in Sage. Needle was size 5 (US). Rav me.

Bootie pattern is Saartje’s Booties. Yarn is ibid. Needle was size 2 (US). Rav me, too.

Oh, and speaking of crochet! And also speaking of things for babies, I finally have picked out the colors for the baby Babette.

babette colors

Yah? Is pretty? Yah. Now I just have to, um, learn to crochet. I got a copy of The Happy Hooker and made an attempt already. And it looks like…well, it doesn’t look much like crochet, let’s just leave it at that.

But hell, I’ve got plenty of time before I have to finish that. Christmas is eons away! Besides, I’m a bit obsessed with this new sock pattern I’m test knitting. The heel so kicks ass. Just wait till you see!

forked sock so far

I’ve even arsed it up already! Kalani, do I get special points for being an overachiever?