Ah, the ever important first post. Screw this up and people won’t read your blog. They’ll think you’re nuts, discredit you, ruin you future career, and ensure that all of your children turn out to be crack addicts.

So no pressure, eh?

So how does one introduce herself in a blog? I don’t know who’s out there, or why they’re here, or what they want. So who are you? What DO you want?

You want to know who I am. Okay, fine.

I am the chemgrrl (with an emphasis on the grr part). I’m a grad student in chemistry in southern Indiana. But also, I am a knitter, which is the main reason I’m starting this blog. I have to talk about knitting. So in this space, I mainly will be talking about knitting.

Hmm? What’s that you say? WHY do I have to talk about knitting?

Well, I guess that question falls into the “if you have to ask, you wouldn’t understand” category. I love to knit. I love to make things. I love the softness of the yarn, and the beautiful colors. Oh, the colors (I got into chemistry initially because I wanted to know what makes color)! I want to knit all of the time, and talk about it when I can’t actually do it. My problem is that nobody around me really wants to hear it. Hence, here I am.

What about this other stuff? Flowers? Dirt? Chemistry?

I’m a gardener, too (flowers! I heart flowers!), and like I said above, am a grad student in chemistry. I’m going to have to talk about that, since I’m in the lab 60+ hours per week. In fact, I’m in the lab right now. I should probably be working (ha! ha ha ha!) but I’m not. A girl’s gotta have some fun.

I’m kinda busy, though, so I probably won’t be the best on updating my blog on a regular basis. In fact, I started one before and never did anything with it. I let it go so long that I forgot the password and couldn’t get back into my blog, so it died a horrible blogger death and remains floating in the ether to this day. But! I’m really going to try this time and actually post. Look! I’m already posting! Yay me!

Well, it’s a start, anyway.

