Sorry. Having just spent three days with my niece and nephew, I have to post cutsie pictures of them and talk about how adorable they are. So if you don’t want to read about that kind of sappy crap, I suggest that you skip to the end.

Still here? Well, first things first. Nels and I drove to Florida to see my family. Since we’ve grown somewhat, we all won’t fit in anybody’s house anymore, so we rented a big house on the beach to spend our early Christmas in.

Here’s the view from porch (one of three):

porch

Does it go without saying that it was nice?

Okay, now cute kid pictures.

John with blankie

The log cabin blanket with its recipient. Being only two months old, he didn’t have much of an opinion on it. His mom sure loved it, though. My mom, a new knitter, even picked up the edge and said, “Wow! Look at those corners!”

I have taught you well, grasshopper.

The socks, eh. They went over quite well, but damn it, they didn’t fit. Arrugh! It seems that everything that I make for Hanna ends up too small. Maybe she’s just growing too fast. She’s certainly moving a lot faster these days. I had a hard time getting pictures that weren’t just a blur…

HGK and doorHGK and door 2

HGK and vaccuum

That toy vacuum, by the way, actually works. Is that not genius? She loves that thing. I told my sister-in-law that she should send Hanna over to my house. My floors could sure use the help…

Okay, if you’ve skipped, start reading here again!

The ride home was uneventful. I didn’t really get very far on the Swallowtail shawl, unfortunately. I finished the budding lace pattern, or whatever it’s called, and moved on to nupp chart #1. I must admit I like the nupps, but they are taking forever. I think I knitted for about three hours yesterday and didn’t finish the first chart! The nupps involve knitting 5 stitches onto one, then purling 5 together on the next row. I’m having to do this with a crochet hook, since the yarn I’m using is somewhat thick (DK weight). Feh. I’m going to have to do some furious knitting to finish this thing by Christmas Eve. I have two whole charts left! And I’m starting to worry that I’m going to run out of yarn. Yarn I dyed. (shudder) Oh jeez, I don’t even want to think about that.

La la la la! I’m not listening! La la la!

At least I’m near to finished with hypotenuse. I’ve finished all the called for 14 repeats. I kept going on it though, because I’ve still got some yarn left and the blub likes long scarves. Yeah, he’s got big feet too.

It’s cold here. Not like Florida. See?

frozen creek

The water! It’s frozen! Brrrrrrr…

