Especially me, cuz I finished it all! Hooraaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

The Swallowtail shawl was finished (knitting) Thursday night. I did almost run out of yarn. I was sweating bullets those last few rows, as I would look at the ball about every ten stitches or so. As I was doing the last chart, I realized that the last 6 rows were exactly the same–so I only did the first two, which left me with the right stitch count to do the bind off rows. Whew! Good thing, too. This is how much yarn I had left:

the remaining yarn

Holy crapola, batman! I think I might have squeezed two more rows out of that, but I dunno. Better to be safe than sorry I guess. I’m really glad I didn’t have to dye any more yarn. It would have been hard to match the original color.

So here it is in all its glory:

shawl on rock

The Swallowtail shawl

Pattern: Interweave Knits, Fall 06, written by Evelyn Clark
Yarn: JaggerSpun Zephyr DK Weight, procured from Sarah’s Yarns. Dyed steely blue by me.
Begun: I suppose I should start keeping track of these things
Finished: 1:07 am (EST) December 21, 2006
Gifted to: my MIL

Gratuitous close ups:

shawl on rock point

shawl on rock edge

I was a bit worried that deleting those last four rows would make the edges look not-so-pretty, but I think they look a-okay! I’m pretty pleased with the dye job, too. The slight variations in color give the shawl added depth, don’t you think? Oh, those really dark bits, esp the ones on the left, are shadows, not pooling. I’m not so great at dyeing yet, but I’m not that bad.

Anyway, she loved it.

nancy in shawl

Looks nice on her too, eh?

I finished hypotenuse, too, almost sadly. I really loved knitting it. I even got to like getting up early in the morning and knitting before work. I might actually continue to do that. It’s a great way to start your day.

I don’t have good pictures of it, though. Here’s a crappy blocking pic:

hypotenuse blocking

Crappy as in the blocking job, I mean, not the picture. I did the blocking at the blub’s parents’ house, as to not tip him off. I thought it might look suspicious if I tried to sneak out of my house with my blocking wires shoved under my coat. Ya think? So I just did an initial block with pins. Yucky scalloped edges! I did a re-block yesterday, and it looks fine now. I’ll get a nice picture as soon as the sun comes out again. I did get a bad one of Senor Blub on Christmas Eve, which is when we open presents (his family is German).

the apprehensive man

It looks like he thinks I’m about to shove the camera up his ass, doesn’t it? Sorry for the darkness of the pictures. It was a wee bit shady in there, but for good reason:

fuzzy Christmas tree

Real candles! Pretty.

