Well, first of all I want to apologize for the craptastic pictures you are about to see. But this is why:

house with snow Jan 07

It snowed! Finally! After missing all the yicky crap that has been hitting the rest of the country, we Southern Indiana folks belatedly got ours last night. From the piles on the porch, it looks like about 3 inches. Yay! I’ve been missing the white stuff. Doesn’t the house look so warm and cozy in the snow? However, it has made it uncomfortable to take my usual outside knitting pics. So you’re going to have to deal with desk lamp photos today. My apologies.

Anyway, here’s the real news. I have finished the Milanese Lace socks.

perwinkle socksright sock 1

Specs:

Pattern: none really–lace pattern from Barbara Walker Treas. #2 + standard sock recipe*
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport, periwinkle
Started: Jan 5
Finished: Jan 20
Notes: I reversed the chart on the second sock so they swirl in opposite directions. I think I like it. :)

Okay, that’s hardly the “Stop the presses” kind of news, but I’m happy about it. BUT! This is what I’m really really excited about.

perwinkle sock yarn left

That’s the remaining yarn (battery included for scale). Yeah, so what, you’re thinking (yes, I can hear you). Well, the so what is that this is the total remaining yarn:

leftovers total

Yup. That’s right. This pair of socks is knit with only one skein of yarn!

I’ll repeat myself in case some of you were not paying attention.

One skein of yarn!

And that’s not one of those giganto skeins that contain 400 yards or anything. This was only 70 g, 200 yds! Woot! I think I’m still in shock. Granted, it’s lace so it’s holey and all, but still! And it’s not like I have teeny feet. I wear a size 7 to 7.5. Can you believe it? Well, I’m excited, if I hadn’t made that obvious yet.

So what should I do with the other skein? Decisions, decisions…

*my standard sock recipe is as follows: measure foot of intended recipient. Subtract 10% from this number. Determine correct # of stitches to cast on for this size (either by gauge or by guessing) and cast on. Work ribbing for about 1-2”, or until you are sick of it. Work leg in pattern of choice until long enough, then divide for heel as follows: take half of the stitches and put on one dpn. Work slip stitch heel pattern until heel flap is as long as it is wide. Turn heel. Pick up gusset stitches, one half of total # heel stitches on each side of heel flap. Decrease every other row until you are back down to the total number of stitches you started with. Knit foot until 2” shorter than total foot length. Work standard wedge toe, until you have 16-20 stitches left, depending on yarn weight. Kitchener toe together. Put sock on and dance around kitchen.

