No knitting content today–it’s all business around here at Chez Chemgrrl. In case you pay attention to the buttons in my sidebar, you’ll know that I joined the Favorite Color Swap 2. These are my answers to the questionnaire. Go ahead and read them if you want, but I suspect you’ve got better things to do.

Favorite Color Swap Questionnaire

1. What are your top three favorite colors?

Purple, red, and green, but not all together. I love purple and red together, and purple and green together, but NOT red and green together. Unless it’s Christmas, that is.

2. What crafts do you really enjoy?

I’m a dyed in the wool knitter. Oh, I also dye.

3. What products do you really covet?

Yarn, yarn, yarn, yarn, and more yarn, especially sock yarn. I also like handmade stitch markers and nice little bags for knitting notions to go in.

4. What other activities do you enjoy besides your favorite crafty things?

Reading, writing, and arithmetic. Okay, not really that last one. Not that I hate math or anything, I just don’t often do it for fun. I also enjoy rock climbing, gardening, and whistling while I work.

5. Is there anything you collect?

Um….my house tends to collect dust. It’s got quite enough of that, though.

6. What is your zodiac sign and/or Chinese zodiac symbol?

I’m a Leo. As far as the Chinese sign, I think I’m a rabbit.

7.What are your favorite…

…scents/smells?

Lavender, jasmine, fresh tomatoes, basil, wool, dirt (I mean the nice clean dirt-in-the-spring time-when-you’re-hoeing-your-sweet-peas kind of smell), baby’s heads, sheets that have dried in the sunshine, chocolate chip cookies baking, and oranges.

…types of music and/or bands?

I’m not good on type, but some of my favorite performers are Modest Mouse, Tom Waits, Nick Drake, Michelle Shocked, the Pixies, the Clash, the Pogues, Norah Jones, Madeleine Peyroux, and Beck. I think my favorite album of all time is John Denver and the Muppets: a Christmas together.

…authors?

Oh, boy. There are, in no particular order: Kurt Vonnegut, Neil Gaiman, Diana Wynne-Jones, Barbara Kingsolver, A.A. Milne, J.D. Salinger, John Steinbeck, John Irving, Richard Russo, Elizabeth Peters, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Shel Silverstein, J.K. Rowling, Gabriel Garcia-Marquez, Salman Rushdie, Lewis Carroll, Shannon Hale, Sharon Creech, E.B. White, and Robert Newton Peck.

Huh. Over half of those are children’s book authors.

…animals?

I like all animals. I especially like kitties, though.

…places to shop?

Yarn4socks.com, the Loopy Ewe, Astrid’s Dutch Obsessions, Anthropologie, Ikea, thrift stores and flea markets

…season?

Do I have to pick one? Well, it’s either in the spring when the trees are blooming and everything’s starting to pop up, or in the late summer when my garden’s in full bloom and all the vegetables are ripe and ready for eating.

…yarn/fabric/paper/other craft supplies?

Lorna’s laces shepherd sock in the semi-solids, Scout’s Swag sock yarn, Fleece Artist sock yarn, Socks that Rock lightweight, Sweet Georgia sock yarn, and any of Sundara’s yarn (especially her somewhat solids).

…candies or goodies?

Dark chocolate—the darker the better.

8. Do you have any wish lists?

I have a wish list at Amazon.com. I also have one at Anthropologie, but I think the only thing on there is a $100 pair of shoes. Don’t let me stop you, though!

9. Are you allergic to anything?

No, but I can’t wear mohair. It gives me the itches.

10. Do you have any pets? What are they?

I have four cats. Don’t feed them after midnight.

11. Please include anything else you would like your secret pal to know about you- anything that would be helpful in finding you little gifts that you will really enjoy.

I really like monochromatic things—like something with tons of shades of purple, or all reds, etc. I also like vintage-y type things, things that have character. I like knitting lace, too. Um, what else? I’m known to impersonate Little Orphan Annie from time to time, and I heart the Muppets. I would have married Kermit if I could. I sing in the shower, but only if my husband’s not home. I make my cats do the Macarena sometimes. Is this helping? Maybe I should just shut up while I’m ahead.

