The Beast has been tamed.

The Beast socks

The Beast socks

Pattern: garter stitch rib pattern from Sensational Knitted Socks, using Wendy’s toe-up sock tutorial and the reverse Dutch heel tutorial
Yarn: Mountain Colors Bearfoot, Ruby River, 1 skein
Needle size: US 3
Begun: January 28–ish
Finished: February 17
Recipient: the blub

I think the knitting time is a bit misleading. When I started these, I only knitted them in the mornings, before I went to work. So that was about 45 minutes a day, 4 times a week. When I gave them to the blub on Valentine’s Day, I was up to the end of the gusset increases on one sock, and right after the heel on the other. I then finished them three days later. So once I really got going, these were quite a speedy knit. In fact, on the second sock I did the heel and the cuff all in one day. Go me.

They were also my first toe-up socks. Do you know what that means? I fulfilled one of my New Year’s resolutions! Hurrah! Toe-up socks are pretty easy, but I think I still prefer cuff down. They were great for socks for the blub, though, cuz I could just knit until I ran out of yarn. I’m always afraid I’ll run out, so his socks in the past have been kind of short. Not these! The cuffs are a full 8 inches long. To those people who worried about getting a full pair of socks out of this stuff? I had yarn left over. Yup. These socks used up 96 grams. I have 19 g of yarn left (I weighed the skein before knitting—it was actually 115 g, not the stated 100. Thanks for being generous, Mountain Colors!).

So, specifics: I used Wendy’s toe-up tutorial, as mentioned above. I chose the figure-eight toe, simply because I was too lazy to find a crochet hook when I cast on (as you may remember, I was under slight duress at the beginning of this project). Also mentioned before, I screwed up the first toe and it looked really funny. To fix it, I just ripped out the cast on, unraveled two rows, and Kitchenered the end back together. It worked wonderfully, as you can see here:

The Beast sock toes

I bet you can’t even tell which toe I fixed! Actually, I can’t either. I think it might be the one on the right, but I’m really not sure.

The heel I used was called the Reverse Dutch heel. It was easy enough to do, but I’m not sure I like it.

The Beast sock heel

I think it looks kind of funny (it doesn’t help that the picture is weird, too. I tried to fix it in Photoshop, but I only made it worse, so there you go). It looks like it might be slightly uncomfortable, no? I need to learn how to do short row heels…

The Beast sock 1

All in all, I’m pleased with the way they came out. The yarn! So soft. But also, apparently, so runny. So after these were done, they got a nice hot bath with some Citric acid and Synthrapol in order to set the dye better. It seemed to work–when I washed them after, the water had only the slightest tinge of pale pink.

The Beast socks bath

And then to block…

The Beast socks drying

The Beast socks became so tame that they even tolerated their socky companions.

Play nice, wee beasties!

I think they will.

hairy beast on hairy feet

…and they lived Happily Ever After. The End.

