Look at your calendar.

Mine says that it’s March 12, 2007. Is this right? My calendar hasn’t decided to revolt, has it? Is it staging a protest against time as we know it, and elected to operate on its own, more imaginative, time?

No, I didn’t think so. It really is halfway through March. Dangit!

I’ve finally started my first Project Spectrum project.

For those of you not in the know, Project Spectrum was begun by Miss Lolly of Lolly Knitting Around. The general idea is that for each two months of the year, three colors are chosen. Participators then think, act, and create with these colors in mind. That’s it! No stress, no pressure, just fun. I thought it was a great idea, so I joined up. The colors assigned to February and March are blue, grey, and white. Thus far this year, I have done no knitting with blue, grey, or white.

Until recently, that is.

Behold! For your Project Spectrum pleasure, I present

pot sock 2

Pomatomus!

I’m really loving this yarn, this pattern, and these colors. Every color from Project Spectrum this month is in there! Blue! White! Grey! They play off each other like flowers in a meadow, like birds in the trees, like knitted stitches in a sock!

pot sock 1

Look at the texture—don’t you just love the texture? It comes from the twisted stitches, created by knitting all of the knitted stitches through the back loop. This comes very naturally to me, as I learned to knit Combination style. The stitch pattern is also quite easy, once you get the hang of it. It just flows so organically that I’m not even using the chart anymore—you can just tell what should come next. Props to Cookie for that.

Also for Project Spectrum, I have received this beautiful yarn in this beautiful blue for this beautiful pattern.

cotton fleece on trellis 2

I am in love with this color, called Columbine Blossom. It’s the perfect springtime blue. It also perfectly matches my vintage blue glass buttons, which I just happen to need four of to make Ariann. They’re smaller than what the pattern calls for, but buttonholes are very easy to knit smaller, aren’t they?

So I’ve started two projects, a pair of socks and a sweater, for Project Spectrum. I’m only a month and a half behind.

Better late than never.

