First of all, I want to thank everybody for your nice and wonderful comments on the Hourglass Sweater. I did wear it out in public, and I must admit it is kind of growing on me (no pun intended). The sleeves are still a bit short, which seems to me a screaming irony since my biggest fear was that the sleeves would be too long, but all in all, it’s good. I’ve gotten a lot of compliments on it, and most people have made them to my face, and not another part of my anatomy.

So, because I finished one sweater, I let myself cast on for another. Here is the start of Ariann:

Ariann start

Doesn’t look like much, does it? It’s not–yet. I have an inkling that’s about to change. I feel myself getting slowly addicted to this project. I didn’t think I’d like knitting with the Cotton Fleece, as I have an aversion to non-stretchy yarn. But, man! This yarn knits up so crisply, and the fabric is so soft. I have mass forebodings about some major yarn love coming on. Fortunately, I found a place to get this really cheap. I mean really cheap–I priced this project out both in the Cotton Fleece, and in KnitPicks Main Line (which seems like a most unusual choice for a yarn name–overdose, anyone?). The Cotton Fleece proved to be cheaper, but only if you buy it from here. They have Cotton Fleece for $5.75 a skein! That’s about $2 cheaper per skein than anywhere else I’d looked. It took a little longer for them to get it to me, since they order it from the company when you place your order, but it was worth the wait in my opinion.

Ariann start 2

Don’t you think?

I had just a bit of trouble with the cast on. This was my fault, not the pattern’s. It did not specify a cast on, so I used my old standby, the long tail cast on. Knittinghelp.com (as well as all other sensible references) suggest pulling out about 1/2 to 1 inch of yarn for every stitch that you wish to cast on. Of course, being me, (motto: “guidelines, shmidelines”), I usually pull out what looks like “enough” and go for it. The first time I cast on, I ran out of yarn at about stitch number 123 (out of 176). I made up a few new swearwords (a favorite hobby of mine) then pulled out my cast on edge. I didn’t want to make the same mistake twice, so I pulled out a “couple more lengths” and cast on again. I had plenty of yarn the second time. Plenty.

Ariann cast on tail

See that blue thing way off in the background there? That’s my knitting. See that blue line coming towards you? That’s the yarn. The distance between them? Oh, about eight feet.

Heh heh. Oops.

At least I didn’t run out again!

In other knitting news, the Pomatomus socks are coming along nicely.

pot sock heel done

I’ve turned the heel, and I’m now into the gusset.

These socks are so photogenic–I can’t stop taking pictures of them!

pot sock close

That’s just one of about 1600 that I took this morning. I didn’t even post them all to flickr–it would be too embarrassing. Plus I would probably have used up my quota for the month all in one go.

But it’s so pretty, though! I find myself gazing at this sock more than I’m knitting it, which is probably why I haven’t gotten very far on it. But I love it. I! Love! It! Please do yourself a favor and run, do not walk, to get yourself some of this yarn. Colinette Jitterbug. Here I did a google search for you. Go on. I’ll wait.

Are you back? What color did you get? Can I have it?

One more thing before I sign off today–the new Yarnival is up. Guess who got included this time?

To answer this question, please write your guess on the label of a skein of Colinette Jitterbug. For the address to post entries to, write to leighly AT lycos DOT com. Entries will only be accepted by mail–no email entries will be eligible. Winner gets a really big thank you!

P.S. Look! It really is spring.

purple crocus twins

