Don’t take pictures at dawn. They look like poo.

appletini socks done

See? Poo.

At least they match! Ha! Take that gods of…um, un-matchyness!

I’m not even going to bother with the specs. They’re socks. I made them with Yarntini self-striping in appletini. Whatever.

I’ve been feeling a little…apathetic lately. Can you tell? I don’t know if my knitting mojo is AWOL or just on crack. Look what I’ve been doing:

dishcloths

No, your eyes do not deceive you. They’re dishcloths. The cotton kind. Now, if you know me, you know that I HATE knitting with cotton. And to knit dishcloths? Um, no. Sorry. Try somewhere else. But you know what?

(glances over both shoulders)

They’re really FUN! And useful! I washed out two iron skillets yesterday, and for once I cleaned them how the blub keeps telling me to (which I usually ignore)—I didn’t use soap, and I didn’t scrub! I just gave them a few swipes and they miraculously came clean! Wow, huh? Who knew that enlightenment could be reached through dishcloth cotton? And come in so many pretty colors?

In other knitting news, I’ve been doing some major waffling on my Sockapalooza socks. Bleah! I don’t know…I think I might make some Monkeys. It seems, though, that everyone is making Monkeys. I know that’s no reason not to, but I want to have a little bit of originality! But it seems like it would be a perfect match, because my gauge is 8 sts/in, and I know my sock pal likes Cookie’s patterns. I thought about knitting one of the new patterns, but my yarn has some tonal variation (I’m using the red Fleece Artist, remember that?), and I think those would look best in very solid yarn. So…all roads point to Monkey right now. Anybody have a better idea? Let loose if you do, I’d love to hear it.

In the meantime I’ll be scouring the stores for colors of Sugar n’ Crème I haven’t tried yet…

