Bugger and blast! I’ve been tagged for the 7 random things meme. Gee, thanks loads Erica.

In case you have been stuck in an underground vault for the past month or so, here’s what this thing is about, verbatim from Erica’s blog:

Each person tagged gives 7 random facts about themselves. Those who are tagged need to write on their own blog those 7 facts as well as the rules of the game. You need to tag seven other people and list their names on your blog. Then you leave those you plan on tagging a note in their comments so they know that they have been tagged and to read your blog.

So here goes:

1. I don’t like memes. Okay, that’s kind of a lie. I like it when other people do them. Sometimes, if they don’t do them too often. It’s kind of fun to learn random things about the people whose blogs you read (did that sentence make grammar sense? Whatever). I sure as hell don’t want to do them, though. I want to talk about knitting!

2. Knitting fact: I learned to knit from a Norwegian woman when I was 19. She taught me combined knitting, but with throwing. I’ve been told that’s really unusual. Is it? I do mostly western knitting now, still with throwing. I can’t pick for the life of me. Every once in awhile I try again, but then get lazy and go back to doing it the old way.

3. I don’t like roller coasters. Why would I pay someone to make me feel like I’m going to puke?

4. I came to Indiana University (where I still am) to study folklore. That’s right, folklore. It’s the best school in the world for that. Somehow, in a series of events that I still do not fully comprehend, I am now in grad school for chemistry. The past is fuzzy, I try not to dwell on it.

5. I followed the Grateful Dead on their last spring and summer tour. It was a great time, but again: fuzzy.

6. I won all kinds of awards for writing when I was a little kid. I still have the story that won Young Authors when I was in fourth grade (Watts: the life story of a light bulb) and the book of poems I wrote when I was in second and third grade. Here’s a sample:

Hello, hello, goodbye, goodbye
The day has gone, sigh, sigh
And night will be passing by
Hello, hello, goodbye, goodbye

Hey, don’t judge. I was seven.

7. My very favoritest time of year is late summer. August, specifically. That’s my month: I was born in August, and I was married in August. That’s when all of my favorite flowers are blooming (zinnias, cosmos, tithonia), my garden is producing the most, and the world just feels right. It’s a happy time.

Satisfied? Can we get back to our regularly scheduled blogging now? Cuz it’s Wednesday, and we all know what that means…(try to contain yourselves).

Here’s what I’ve been

Listening to

Reading

And

Watching.

A very disturbing movie that. Really good, but disturbing. It’s pretty violent and definitely NOT for kids. You are warned. There were some really good sweaters in that movie though. Did you notice?

Oh, crap, I have to tag somebody else for the meme. Um, okay. All of you that read this blog and never say anything (and I know there are a fair number of you—Wordpress automatically gives blog stats everyday), all of you silent ones, consider yourself tagged. You’d better do it! I’ll be checking.

MUAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

