Well, I finished it. Don’t worry, I will not say A SINGLE WORD about the Deathly Hallows. My lips are clamped tight. I wouldn’t even tell my mom, who isn’t reading the books, how it ended when she asked me yesterday. I stayed up until 3 am Sunday morning reading. That was with visiting family at my house, a haircut appointment, a birthday party, and an informal wedding reception, all on Saturday. Whew! I took Sunday off of work just to rest from that. Yes, I’m a fast reader. I think, all told, it took me about 8 hours to read the 739 pages. The blub figured that out last night with a look of inspired awe in his eyes.

It’s kinda funny how internetland seems quiet and uninhabited. My blog stats are way down, there doesn’t seem to be much happening at knitty, and there were a lot of blogs that normally get updated on weekends that stayed silent. I absolutely love that. I think it’s fabulous that a story can do that to us; make us forget our day to day, let us take time out of our busy, plugged in lives to crack the spine of a treasured book. Cheers for J.K. Rowling. So do you think it can happen again in our lifetimes? Not bloody likely. That makes it all the more special for me–to know that I witnessed the phenomenon first hand, that I was alive to experience it. Groovy. Of course, I think it would be even better if there were another craze, over a different, yet to be written book. Um, mine.

Okay, the cat’s out of the bag. Yes, I’m an aspiring writer. It seems obvious, doesn’t it, that would be the next logical step for someone on the brink of getting her PhD in…chemistry. Yeah. Plus I have loads of time on my hands, between working about 70 hours a week and the whole knitting thing, plus the feeding and care of this blog. Whatever. I try to make time. Right now I’m working on one short story, while trying to clean up another for publication. I’ve also got about three chapters of a novel that’s been sitting for a little while. It’s hard, but I enjoy it, so there you are. You’ve got to make time for the things you love.

For the record: I don’t think I can write a better book than J.K. Rowling, nor do I really believe that I could create one as popular as the Harry Potter series. Bloody hell, at this point, all I want to be is published. We’ll worry about the details later.

And speaking of details, I did finish the socks. I blocked them last night, but they were still soaking wet this morning. Cotton, I tell you. Takes forever to dry. Hopefully, I can share the pictures tomorrow. Until then, happy reading!

P.S. Sunni? No lines. Pbbbbbbbbbt!

