sheepy

Isn’t she just the cutest? This little lamb was made by a local spinner, from locally raised, naturally colored wool. Yay. She’s going along in my sockapalooza 4 sock pal’s package, which needs to go out tomorrow! Crikey, I need to get that together.

Well, as you may have figured out, it’s Wednesday. Here’s what I’ve been

Reading

Listening to (and here’s a link to all the lyrics on the album. You can thank me later.)

and

Watching
.

The blub thinks that this is the greatest line ever in a comedy: “A hospital? Doctor, what is it?” “It’s a big building with patients, but that’s not important right now.”

Me, I’m more partial to “She turned me into a newt!…..I got better.” Different strokes, I suppose.

August has begun. This makes me happy, especially I have two super-special packages winging their ways toward me right now, one of which is stuffed full of yarn. Woo-hoo! I’ll share my goodies when I get them, but for now I’ll let you wonder what they are.

This month is going to be pretty busy for me. I’m going down to Red River Gorge this weekend for some climbing and girly-time; my parents are coming to visit me on my birthday weekend; my third wedding anniversary is two days after that; and I’m going to my friend’s wedding on the 25th. Oh, plus school starts again on the 27th. That doesn’t really mean much for me, as I’ve gotten another fellowship. Yay, no teaching! That was kind of a surprise, since I’ve already gotten, um, three. I mean in the past, not all at the same time. I barely remember what it’s like to teach undergrads, since my last teaching assignment (last fall) was a graduate Inorganic Spectroscopy class. Whatever, I’ll take the cash. Won’t hear me complaining.

Speaking of grad school, see that tab, ^up there ^? The one that says ‘Grad Journal’? As the school year begins, I’m going to start a weekly journal of my life as a grad student. People ask me all the time what it’s like, so I’m actually going to start chronicling. I think it will be fun—the last time I kept a journal was the summer between my high school graduation and my first semester of college. Good times. Anyway, I hope you’ll enjoy reading it, if you’re interested. We’ll see how it goes.

As always, happy Wednesday!

