To translate the MomSpeak (my mom, that is) sussie = susprise = surprise. She’s weird, but I love her.

Oh sussies! Squeeeeee! Not one, but two boxes were waiting for me when I got home last night.

Box 1: My Sockapalooza socks!

waving lace socks

They’re purple! Hooray! My secret socky pal was Amber. Didn’t she do a lovely job?

sock feet
sock top

The pattern is the Waving Lace socks by Evelyn Clark. Love them! Thanks so much, Amber.

Box 2: A super stealth box from Jennifer (aka YArN KNiTa)! For my berfday!

This was the awesomest box of all time. It doth contain (deep breath): a skein of purple twisty Trekking 109 (yarn love!), two packages of knitting girl note cards, an adorable little sock blocker keychain, a copy of Diana Garbaldon’s Outlander (which I’ve never read–yay new authors!), a periodic table book (which is totally kickass cool), a sheepy magnet, a lovely wooly card, AND the coolest sock dryer thingie that I have ever seen. It’s an octopus. I’ve dubbed him “The Socktopus.” Yes, I know. How original. I’m excited, shut up.

trekking 2notecardssock keychainbooks and thingsmore socktopus

Click on any of those pictures to see them bigger. Especially click the yarn. Purple twisty Trekking! I’ve been lusting after that for awhile now!

Because I could not resist, here’s a pic of the Socktopus in all his cute utilitarian glory:

socktopus

Don’t you just love him? I just love him. He folds up when not it use. According to the tag, he came from Ikea. Sigh. I wish I lived near an Ikea. But isn’t Jennifer the awesomest person ever? Thank you SO MUCH! You truly rock.

Okay, trying to come down from that high. I totally spaced about yesterday being Wednesday, so here’s that usual day’s crap:

Here’s what I’ve been

Listening to

Reading

and

Watching.

It was about time I saw this, seeing as it took place in my hometown, at my school. There were hardly any scenes shot in Bloomington, though. A few outdoors, that’s it. I was kinda bummed that they didn’t show the outside of the Kinsey’s house, which is three doors down from where my in-laws live. The blub used to deliver the newspaper there when he was a wee bairn. Alfred Kinsey was dead by then, but Clara was still here. “She was so nice,” he told me once. “She always gave me cookies.” He also told me about going into their house to collect for the paper and staring transfixedly at the “interesting statues.” Yeah, I’ll bet they were very interesting to an eight-year-old boy. Tee hee.

AND speaking further of sussies, I have been getting together some fabulous prizes for the upcoming Blog Extravaganza. I will announce contest, rules, and prizes on Sunday. That gives you one week, as I will officially end the contest at midnight (EST) on August 19. That’s the big day. So stay tuned! Don’t miss out on your chance to win yarny goodness.

