I heart Fridays. I got to school late this morning and still got a parking spot. That’s because everybody else is late today, too. Yay.

So here’s what I’ve been

Listening to

Watching (yes, still)

and

Reading.

I finally finished it. Thanks Jennifer! It was a pretty good read. I really liked the historical stuff, but I was a bit disappointed in the main character. I thought something different would happen in the end. I also thought that there was a bit too much sex in it. Call me a prude, maybe I am, but that almost tipped the genre over into romance, which is just something I’m not into. I was interested enough to look up the sequel, A Breath of Snow and Ashes at the library. (Edit: I stand corrected. The sequel is actually A Dragonfly in Amber. My bad.) I did find the audiobook–42 tapes! Holy fargging crap! I had a hard time getting through Until I Find You, which had something like 21 tapes. So I don’t know. Maybe I’ll read it some day, but probably not soon.

Oscar? Are you Fall in disguise?

I could feel fall in the air this morning. There was something about the slant of the sun, and the way it filtered through the aging leaves. There are a few specks of golden here and there, and the air had this slight undertone of crisp, like the base note in a perfume. At some point on my drive in, I rolled down my window and smelled woodsmoke. Mmmm. Sweater weather is looming; I can feel it tensing to pounce, like a great orange cat. For me this means sweater knitting, yes, but it also means garden planning. I’m very excited about it, because this year I’m putting in a dyeing garden.

I’m definitely squeeing on the inside, but it’s a low-pitched, subtle squee. Much like the promise of a seed, perhaps–closed and secret. I’ve found a couple good seed and plant sources, and I wanted to share them with you. They are Richters Herbs and Companion Plants, which is in Athens, Ohio.

Oh planning! That’s the best part, isn’t it? I’m also maybe thinking about knitting this for the blub. Whaddya think? Brown? Green?

