I have triumphed. Begone, foul ennui! Make you never darken my doorstep again!

I can’t stop knitting Wicked.

Wicked with asters

I’m really sorry–sorry that I didn’t show more progress along the way. I didn’t want it to be a poof! But a poof it is. Almost. Right now, I’m at that bit where you stop to knit the pocket. I decided to knit the sleeves first, as I’m slightly worried about running out of yarn. Those are done, and I’m halfway through the pocket. Then I attach it, then I knit the bottom ribbing. That’s all! I imagine I’ll finish tonight or tomorrow. This sweater has just flown off my needles.

Of course, now that I’ve said that, something dreadful will happen and I’ll have to rip half the thing out. It’s really nice knitting, though, so I don’t mind. See the pretty stitches?

wicked stitches

Yay.

Moving along, I have decided to knit the Cobblestone pullover.

cobblestone contemplation

I’m going to use some yarn that’s been languishing in my stash for a bit–this Rowanspun Aran in caviar. I got it for a song ages ago, from some place going out of business. Sad, yes, but happy for me. I think it was 75% off. Anyway, it’s larger than the called-for worsted, but my numbers work out such that I can knit the smallest size, but it will be big enough for the blub.

So now the question is, should I tell him? Or should I just start knitting? He’s already approved this pattern, but I know he’s going to whine about the sweater I started for him ages ago, this horrible boring thing done in Jo Sharp Silk Road Aran Tweed. The yarn is very nice, but I’ve heard that it pills. A lot. This is probably not the best yarn for a man who wears sweaters like jackets. That it, he wears the same one every day. Besides, the sweater is a complete disaster and I have to rip it out. I’d rather not discuss it–the wounds are too fresh. But he’ll want to know why I can’t use the old yarn for the new sweater.

Because I want to use it for something else? Ahem.

Maybe I will just start knitting.

