Actually, I guess that should read, “Sheep and pumpkins and walnuts, oh my!” because that’s the order in which they appear. It sounds better the other way, though. I get poetic license, don’t I? It’s my blog, dammit.

Sheep!

Last weekend, my little bro and I went out to Schacht Fleece Farm for their annual sheep shearing. If you want to actually see pictures of that, please see Elli’s or Huan-Hua’s blogs. They actually saw the shearing. I had my brother in tow, who didn’t want to leave his seat at the bar because the Bears were on. Feh. I did eventually drag him out of there, but we missed the whole deal. Oops. Oh well, it was still a beautiful day. Here’s the yarn I bought from them.* It’s 100% Icelandic wool, but it doesn’t say that on the label.

Eve's wool

It just says ‘Eve.’ This makes me smile in a way that non-knitters think is really weird. Just ask my brother.

Llamas!

guard llama cropguard llama 2 crop 2

Well, that’s only one. He kept looking at me. I don’t think he liked me. I think he took his guarding job a little too seriously.

It just occurred to me that, while at the sheep farm, I didn’t take any pictures of actual sheep. Um. Hey look, a silo!

silo

The good thing about sitting on my ass watching football was that I got a lot done on the pumpkin hat.

What pumpkin hat, you say? This one.

Nels with pumpkin hat 1Nels with pumpkin hat 2

(A big thank you to my lovely model)

It’s for my nephew, Baby J, who turns one on October 24th. A pumpkiny hat for a fall baby, from Itty Bitty Hats. How friggin adorable. Anyway, I’m not so sure about the stem. I did my own thing and I don’t know if I like it.

pumpkin hat stem

Does it look like poo? Or a real pumpkin stem? I also don’t know if I’m going to knit a leaf for it. Opinions?

Walnuts!

walnuts in a bucket close up

I have several Black Walnut trees in my yard. Okay, a lot. In fact, it’s slightly dangerous this time of year to venture outside without head protection. We had a walnut fall during a storm last week that actually put a hole through one of our cheapass plastic porch chairs. I’m just glad it didn’t hit the glass table. There’s also a walnut tree right over the shed in the front yard—the one with the flat metal roof. When a walnut hits that, it sounds like a bloody cannon going off. It never fails to scare the shit out of me, and the cats are looking shell-shocked. Ha! Ha ha! Get it? Shell-shocked! Ah, fun times.

walnuts in a bucket 3

Anyway, this year I decided to actually put the damn things to some use, so I’ve gathered them up to dye with. Those are just the ones I picked up from the front yard in about five minutes. I haven’t even looked in the back yard yet. Black walnuts make a pretty dark brown dye, and you don’t even need a mordant. You do, however, need to get the hulls off the walnuts. The hulls are really hard—I read one website that suggested laying them in the street for cars to run over. We don’t get a lot of traffic back here, so I’ll be going at these later with a hammer. Then I’ll soak them overnight, and dye with them tomorrow. Huan-Hua’s coming over to join in the fun. Yay, brown yarn! If it works okay, I’ll use the dyed yarn to make my FIL’s Christmas scarf, Here and There Cables by Norah Gaughan. I think it will be pretty, no?

Have a great, yarn-filled weekend!

*At the Farmer’s Market the day before. They weren’t selling any yarn at the farm. Good thing, too, because I’m sure I would have come home with Eve’s whole outfit, hooves and all.

