paper snowflakes

And we got some actual snow to go with the paper variety. Pretty, no?

Okay, you’re thinking. Cut the crap, chemgrrl, so did you finish this big project or what?

Damn straight, I did.

cobblestone pullover

Señor Cobblestone!

Pattern: The Cobblestone pullover by Jared Flood (Interweave Knits, Fall 2007)
Yarn: Rowanspun Aran, caviar, 5.5 skeins (this yarn has been discontinued. sniff.)
Needle: US 10
Started: September 10, 2007
Finished: December 31st, 2007, 5:05 pm EST. Bloody hell, I had loads of time to spare.
Recipient: el blubbo. He likes it.
Mods: knit at a larger gauge than the pattern called for. I knit the smallest size, and it turned out to be the medium size (out of five sizes–the blub falls squarely in the “large” division in store-bought clothing).

It looks a little wonky in the above picture, but that is pre-blocking. It’s drying nicely on our bed now. Most of the weirdness was due to the transition from stockinette stitch to garter stitch, but it seems to have blocked out. So do you know what this means? This means I am RID of the ubiquitous sweater guilt. You see, I promised the blub a sweater for Christmas two years ago. He chose a pattern that made me want to drink oxalic acid and jump off of something tall, so I never finished it. Then, back in September, I surreptitiously began this sweater as a replacement. He’s happy with it, so I’m FREE! And I get to unravel the old monstrosity. Woot and wahoo! I am a happy chemgrrl.

So. As far as the Knitting Wars are concerned, I still got my ass kicked. Laurie finished 16 projects. I only finished 14. Ah well, such is life. I hope that some people will still give to the American Cancer Society, but no one is under any obligation. I’m still going to give. Too bad they don’t take yarn donations. I cleaned up my stash today and found some stuff I don’t really remember buying. Maybe I was blocking it? Anyway charity is good no matter what form it takes. I’m grateful for ANYthing anyone wants to donate. If you do, let me know and I’ll send you some really special yarn from my stash. Yeah, that’s it! Special.

So here’s where I was going to talk about all the projects I finished this year, and my resolutions from last year, and what I hoped to change in the coming year, blah blah blah. Quite frankly, I’m getting kind of sick of that crap so I think I’ll skip it. Instead I’ll leave you with some pictures of Izzy playing with his catnip hearts that Jesh made. You just can’t beat cute kitties. Not even if you have a stick!

Izzy and heart 1Izzy and heart 2
Izzy and heart 3Izzy and heart 4

Sorry for some of the blurriness. He was moving really fast. :)

Have a good one, everybody!

