Hello.

I guess I’m feeling a bit sad today. Yesterday, one of my fellow grad students defended for his PhD. He passed with flying colors, of course, but the whole thing left me feeling a bit blue. He’s in my lab, and we both started at about the same time (I was an undergrad, he was an exchange student–we both decided to stay). We worked on similar projects, so we’d talk about our research a lot, and often go to each other when we were stuck and have bitch sessions about our boss and things like that. Anyway, I’m going to miss him. He’s going off to a Real Job now. So I’m sad both because he’s leaving and also because he’s leaving me behind. I wish I were done, too. But not yet. I still have a while to go.

Anyway, here’s what I’ve been doing to distract myself from such things.

Reading

Watching

and

Listening to

You might notice that I listed Stardust up there. Yup, I finally saw it. I saw it twice, actually. Now, I must state for the record that Neil Gaiman is one of my favorite writers (I may have mentioned this before, um, a few hundred times). Normally, I DO NOT like it when my fav books are made into movies and they change them. It’s blasphemy, as far as I’m concerned. This movie is…not like the book. Many, many things are different. But you know what? I still loved it. It definitely is a different animal than the book, but I like both animals. I have surprised myself. Does this mean that I’m maturing? Bloody hell. I sure hope not.

Speaking of things that are blue, I thought the General Viewing Pubic might be interested in the state of the Log Cabin Baby Blanket that I made over a year ago. Remember that? Probably not. I think most of you weren’t around then. :) No worries. I’ll refresh your memories. (Pssst…and if you want to see the blankie with its wee receipent, that’s here.)

Caught up? Okay good. So the whole fam was up in Chicago for Christmas, and I managed to sneak a peek at the blanket again.

log cabin baby blanket after 1 yr

The Swish Superwash hasn’t worn so badly, really. It’s a bit pilly, but it has been very, very well loved. Apparently, Baby J won’t go to sleep without this blankie. In fact, when I first went and grabbed it out of his crib, I was carrying him around with me. (This is something I could hardly resist doing—he’s the sweetest kid ever.) He snatched it out of my hands and and just buried his face in it. That’s what he does with things he really likes. He did that with Elijah, too, by the way. Talk about warming the cockles of my heart! I see many, many handknits in this kid’s future.

Okay, enough mushy stuff about kids and cuteness and love. I’ll just leave you with the rest of the pictures. Enjoy.

lcbb2
lcbb3
lcbb4
lcbb5

