Spherey

Hello!

Pattern: Spherey, from Jess Hutchinson’s Unusual toys for you to knit and enjoy
Yarn: Plymouth Encore Worsted, yellow and orange. Just a bit of each.
Needle: US 6
Started: Feb 23
Finished: Feb 29
Mods: a few, minor
For: a baby, not yet born

No, not my baby. I mean, not my impending niece or nephew. But in a total aside, my SIL had an ultrasound a few days ago, and the little bugger was crossing its legs! Totally typical behavior from my obstreperous family. The baby is very healthy and everything’s good, but I still can’t start Babette yet! Wah.

Anyway. Spherey. Yes. He’s for the baby of a friend. Isn’t he just the cutest? I love his sunny-ness, completely needed in this time of mud and melting snow. And I loved knitting this. It was so much fun! I can’t wait to do some of the other toys in this booklet, like the Robot and Squarey. Plus another Spherey for my baby. There’s just something so lovable and squishable and appealing about him. He is very curious. As soon as I sewed his legs on him, he wanted to try the climbing wall.

spherey hanging by his feet

At first he monkeyed around a bit…

spherey likes heights

…but then he got the hang of it. Pretty good for someone who has no hands, eh?

So, mods. There were only two, and they were minor. First, I finished knitting the sphere head and stuffed it and sewed it up before I put the face on. I just couldn’t tell what he looked like not stuffed, so I couldn’t tell where to put his eyes and mouth. And eye placement is really important with these things. It really makes the whole character. (Another aside–did you know that Jim Henson insisted on being present for the eye placement for all of the Muppets? True. Other people would make the rest of them, but the eyes were always the last to go on. And Jim wanted to supervise that. That’s how important it is.) I also cut little felt circles and sewed them on instead of using safety eyes, or embroidering them on. My embroidery skills are not so good. Plus you’re not supposed to use safety eyes for babies because they can supposedly pull them out. Although if this is true, why the hell are they termed “safety”? Whatever, I’d rather err on the side of caution in this case. The felt eyes worked fine.

Verdict: I want to squeeze him and hug him and name him George! It’s not just me, either. Everybody in my house seemed to love him. Excepting Kelpie. For some reason, he freaked her out a little bit.

Kelpie and Spherey

I sees round people!

I guess you can’t please everybody all of the time. Oh well. :)

