You wanted ’em. You got ’em. Here’s what I got at the Fiber Event.

Yarn

Yarn, yes of course. I got a big bag ‘o yarn (well, not huge, but big).

Two skeins of some green stuff.

green stuff

mossy greeny goodness

As you can see, I already started swatching with it.

green stuff los stitches

los stitches

This yarn was labeled “sport weight” which I’m having a hard time believing. It looks kinda like a light worsted to me. Plus, it’s a little scratchy, so I want to feel how it will wash up. Hence, the swatch. I’m not done with it yet, but I’m knitting it on a US 7 and I feel like I could have gone up a needle size. Sport weight. Right.

(That flower, by the way, is a wood anemone. Pretty, yes?)

I also got three skeins of a creamy lovely white.

three little maids from school

three little maids from school

This is much softer than the pretty green. And it’s so squarshy and springy! I couldn’t stop squeezing it. That’s a sign from the knitting gods that you need to buy something, you know. Am who am I to deny the knitting gods?

And the last, a pretty pink.

pink stuff

delicate. lovely.

This was a free skein with purchase of the other ones. I do like it very much, especially paired with the green. Maybe another pair of mittens?

So all this wool came from a small spinning company in Michigan called Zeilinger Wool Company. And it was CHEAP. Seriously, I don’t know how they make any money off of it. It was all $1.20 an ounce. So all the wool up there? Six skeins–approximately a pound and a half of wool? Twenty dollars and seventy six cents. That’s with tax. That made my broke ass very, very happy. Nice wool, too. They do take phone orders…

Um. Not Yarn.

All I have to say for myself is, it was Huan-Hua’s fault. She was having a really hard time deciding what fiber to buy in this very nice booth that had all naturally dyed and handspun stuff. So she asked for my help. We spent about 20 minutes squeezing and looking and comparing all this lovely fiber in this lovely booth. So when she finally made up her mind and took her choices up to the cashier, what could I do but grab my own favorite off of the wall and follow her? I had no choice, really.

Um. Did I mention I don’t spin?

the trouble with tribbles

Just look at it, sitting there all fluffy and cute, like an innocent puff of cotton candy. I think it’s Corriedale with silk noil bits in it, but I don’t remember for sure. The point it, it’s bloody gorgeous. And my downfall. Obviously. Here’s a close-up.

silky pinkyness

Oh yes, it was also dyed with Cochineal. So it’s (part) bug fiber dyed with bug dyes. Yay for our little insect friends.

So after I bought that fiber, I decided to go back to a booth that had this other fiber I was drooling over earlier. What the hell, I thought.

oooo fiber

oooooo….

It was hard to get a good picture of this, since I didn’t want to take it out of its little plastic bag housing, but it is so effing pretty. I don’t remember all of the fibers in here, but it did contain Wensleydale, bombyx silk, silk noil, Corriedale and merino. I think. Anyway, it contains many nice things. And it’s pretty. Did I mention that it’s pretty?

*happy sigh*

So yeah, I need to learn to spin now.

I did get one other thing. Bugs!

bugs

say hello to my little friends

More Cochineal (Dactylopius coccus), but in the raw form this time. Whole. To get the dye, you have to grind them up. I asked the guy I bought them from about that. “With just a mortar and pestle?” I said. “Sure,” he answered, “or you can just use your coffee grinder.”

Heh. I don’t think the blub would be very happy about that. Although cochineal is quite commonly used for food dyes. Think of that the next time you eat something red.

So I will turn things red and pink with the bugs. Maybe even the creamy yarn I got from zwool. Maybe some sock yarn I’ve been saving for interesting dyeing. Maybe just my cats. (Do you think they’d dye well?) Anyway, I’m looking forward to playing with my new things.

Oh yeah, but I need a drop spindle. Where can I get a nice, cheap drop spindle? Anyone?

