(all together now)

Ahhhhhh-ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!
Think I’ll take a picture from my front porch!

Okay, that doesn’t really fit in with the lyrics, but it’s true so I thought I’d say it.

view from porch

Standing on my porch, looking south.

And this is what I see as I look down.

shoes!

I gots new shoeses! They are Dankso Giselles, and I heart them. I’m wearing them with my Jaywalkers today, which are pre-blog. (They date all the way back to about 2 P.B., I think. Ancient!) The yarn is Lorna’s Laces shepherd sock, lucky stripe, in case anyone is interested. And they are a tad too big in the ankle so they tend to slide south, but I don’t care. They are cheery and nice.

And speaking of socks, I thought I’d preview my first foray into my summertime lacy anklet series.

lacy anklets that are more done

That’s the first one. I’ve been working on it for a small while, now. It’s going slowly. I have done much frogging. But the yarn is holding up most fabulously to all of the rippage. I’m using STR sock candy in cherries jubilee for these. I love this yarn. Sadly, you can’t really get it anymore, except in a Baby Surprise kit from BMFA. I got it in a swap on Ravelry. I’m trying to see if I can get a pair of anklets out of only one skein–I think I’m doing pretty well so far, but I’ll keep you updated. And yes, I will be writing up the pattern when I’m done. I’m even taking notes as I go! Erm, in my head, I mean. But aren’t they cute? I think so. I also think they’ll look smashing with my new shoes. You can Rav these socks here, but it doesn’t say much yet. Just about what I said here.

So I am in a wonderful mood today. Redbuds and fun new shoes and sockies help, but that’s not really why. The REAL reason that I’m so happy is this: I’m done. The semester is OVER! Graded the finals yesterday, sat down and cut grades with my boss this morning, and he is entering them into the system right now. YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! No more whiney students! No more pissy boss! (Well, pissy about the class, that is. I’m sure he’ll still be pissy about other stuff.) I will have time to do my own work now! Can I get a Woo-hoo? Hell, I’ll give myself one. WOOOOOOO-HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Whew. That felt great.

Hey! It’s Friday! Did you know that?

Here’s what I’ve been

Reading (It was kind of cute, but I thought the ending sucked.)

Watching (Pretty good–the little girl who played Paikea was awesome!)

and

Listening to. In my head. This has a story.

THE STORY: So I mentioned that I graded exams yesterday, right? Right. Well, there was this one kid who apparently didn’t study so much for the final. He left a note to that effect on the first page of his exam. He then went on to say, since he didn’t know most of the answers, that he was going to “Rickroll it” instead. So he did. Every time he didn’t know an answer, he wrote down one line from that bloody song. The result? It’s stuck in my head. It won’t go away. Arrugh! Thanks a lot, kid. Needless to say, he DID NOT get any points for those questions. I do tend to give points for amusing and creative answers. Like the girl on the last exam on the question about pi acceptors and pi donors in ligand field theory. She drew pictures of a guy in a chef hat holding a pie (the pi donor) and another guy holding a knife and fork (the pi acceptor). I gave her two points for that. Out of six. I do value a good sense of humor.

Um, I think that’s all I’ve got for today. Graduation is this weekend, so I think I’ll stay the hell out of town. In fact–I’m taking a day off. No working for me this Sunday. Yay! I intend to have a fabulous weekend, and I wish you all the same. Toodles.

