I knit things. Here are some things that I have knit.

red robot legs

That is Senor Red Robot. He is destined to be Nephew E’s sixth birthday present. I’m trying to finish the kids’ projects before I leave for SoCal, so then the blub can just wrap and give. Nephew E’s birthday is in late June. He is about robot-aged now, wouldn’t you think? Of course it’s the Robot from the Jess Hutchinson booklet. It has intarsia on it. I don’t like intarsia much. It can get hairy.

red robot back

Especially if one refuses to use those bobbin thingies.

Don’t fret–I’ve got that all sorted out now. Senor Robot is actually done. I took that picture a few days ago. He just needs eyes. Then the sewing of the head, then the antenna. I’ll probably finish tonight. I hope so, since I got yarn today to make Niece E’s birthday present. (Her b-day is two weeks later. My SIL actually had the same due date with both of them. One came early. One came late.) I’m making her an Otto, and I think the yarn I got (Henry’s Attic Inca cotton, yes that color) will be super cool. On a stick. I’m excited about that. But really, anything would be better than casting on for the second one of these:

blub sock

I have christened these the “Kill Me With Death” socks. That is a VERY good name for them. Agagagagag they are SO BORING TO KNIT. They are for the blub socks–that picture up there is me doing the modeling, but they are uber-stretchy. They do fit him. He tried them on. He also liked them very much, which is so much the worse for him. He excitedly asked, “When are they going to be done?” I said, “Christmas.” And he thought I was kidding. Oy. Poor man.

The pattern is the slipped stitch rib from Sensational Knitted Socks (the first). The yarn is Lorna’s Laces shepherd sport, in jeans. The knitting is akin to watching paint dry. So it’s good that I have other things to distract me.

Like this! I’m trying to narrow down what yarn/projects I’m taking with me to SoCal. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

1. Green silk for Large Rectangle in Leaf and Trellis pattern
from Victorian Lace Today
2. Sea silk for Boing! (exclamation point is imperative there)
3. Fratello kit–birthday socks for the blub
4. DK weight Zephyr that I have dyed for the ubiquitous Clapotis
5. Cotton Fleece for Tubey
6. Cotton Fleece for Green Gable
7. STR lightweight for that dang sock pattern I’ve been meaning to write up for ages now. I need to re-do it, hence the re-knitting.

That’s all I’ve got right now. Is that enough? Eeek, I’d hate to run out of things to do! Although there are a lot of yarn stores around where I’ll be, so I probably don’t have to worry about that. Oh yeah, and I got some Kureyon Sock today while I was picking up that Inca Cotton. So pretty! So maybe socks out of that, too. Although I have seen some fabulous shawls and things on Ravelry out of that, so maybe lace instead. (Like this! Isn’t that gorgeous?) But it seems like I’m already taking a lot of things for lace. But lace is fun! Besides, did I mention that the blub and I are driving out there? Dude, that’s about three days in the car. That’s a lot of knitting.

So yeah, I have some deciding to do. I’m also hungry and tired and I have to pee. (Yes, you wanted to know that.) So I’m going home now. Maybe the answer will just magically float into my sleeping brain tonight.

Yeah, and maybe monkeys will fly outta my butt, too.

See ya.

