(And I do mean I’m going east, by the way. Not that I’m standing next to a prostitute.)

Here is the last blog post that I will write from my little room in Orange.

Tomorrow, darlings! The blub and I will journey forth back towards home, towards that glittering rural jewel we call…Indiana.

No really, I am so so so glad to be going home. But I’m not really going home yet. I’m going back to Indiana yes, but only for a matter of hours. I have to get on a plane and go back to DC. Then I’m going to visit my big bro for a bit (and new baby!). Then I get to go home. So it’s still a bit over a week till home for me. But I’m getting there. I’m getting there.

(The blub’s slumbering sweetly on my bed as I write this. I realized that with the time change and his crazy very early morning schedule, he actually got up before I went to bed last night. Poor blub. He’s tired.)

So I’m outta here, two months to the day after I arrived. I’ve had some adventures. I’ve met some nice people (Hi, Anaheim Hills knit night!). I’ve written 25 stories for the paper this summer. And I’ve learned so so so so much at my internship.

Really. It was actually kind of hard for me to say goodbye today. I got teary as I left the newsroom. I really liked what I was doing. Even with the hard edits, even with the ‘write this whole thing over’s, even with the insane people calling me on the phone (my phone number was posted at the bottom of every. single. story.), I really enjoyed that my job was to write. And I think I actually got better at it. Well, that’s what my editors told me, anyway.

Did I mention how glad I am to have done this? It was hard to be away from home, to be away from el blubbo, yes. But when I think about how much I learned and the things I accomplished, well (as we say in my family) it was worf it.

I’m sort of excited about what the future holds for me. I think I can actually do this for a living, which freaks me out and makes me very very happy, both at the same time. Can I actually…do what I love? And get paid for it? Wow. That would rock.

So off I go now, into my future. Can a person romantically drive off into the sunset? If so, that’s me. Motoring away into red and ambers and ochers.

See ya in the Midwest. :)

