This summer has been so fricking nice.

fence and meadow

So much so that I’ve wanted to do little else but sit on my porch and watch the creek flow by, the hummingbirds dive-bomb each other, and my beer glass slowly grow empty. There has been some knitting. A bit. A smidge. But all mindless. And honestly, not really that much of it. Two pairs of socks in the past, er, couple of months. One pair for Nels, and one for me.

The blub pair:

happy feets o the blub

Dude’s Funky Socks, Also with Dutch Heel
Pattern: Gentleman’s Plain Winter Sock with Dutch Heel, by Nancy Bush from Knitting Vintage Socks (rav)
Yarn: Schoeller + Stahl Limbo Superwash #2539 (rainbowy bits) and Cascade 220 Superwash (solid teal bits)
Needle: US 3 and 4
Start to finish: July 5 to 12

Not much to say about these, really. They are awesome, I think that about sums it up.

gentleman's winter stockings

I made them not match on purpose, cuz I felt like it.

blub socks stripies

I added some random stripies, but the stripies the yarn did by itself were pretty nice.

dutch heels

I did make the heels match, and I did do the Dutch heel. It was interesting to step away from my heel flap heel for once. Refreshing, even.

I finished knitting these super-fast. (Well. The fact that the yarn is worsted weight kinda helped.) It was totally unintentional, but they were finished on the blub’s birthday so I wrapped him up and gave them to him. Bonus birthday present. He was quite pleased. So much so that he wore them that day. Worsted weight socks. In July. Mild summer or not, that’s pretty hard-core. I guess he just loves me. Or loves handknit socks. Either. Both.

Pair two: the me pair!

beer and the socks

Gettin’ lucky socks
Pattern: Um. Gentleman’s Plain Winter Sock with Dutch Heel, by Nancy Bush from Knitting Vintage Socks (rav)
Yarn: Crown Mountain Farms Sock Hop, 2 skeins of Say a Little Prayer
Needle: US 3
Start to finish: July 13 to 31

Yes, these are the same pattern as the ones I knit for Nels. I guess I just liked knitting them. Called the gettin’ lucky socks because the color reminds me of Good Luck Bear.

(BTW, while playing with Care Bears with my best friend Stacey was the first time I used the word ‘dick’ in a sentence.* We were seven. We laughed and laughed! Ah, childhood.)

Is there anything else to say here? The awesome was screaming to continue. I let it.

sock hop toesies

Didn’t do the Dutch heel here (I guess I can only take so much refreshing at once) but that was about the only difference.

socks and flowershappy socksIzzy and the socks

And. Um. Yeah, that’s it. About the only other thing I’ve been doing (besides working and wishing I was home on my porch) is gardeny type stuff. And taking lots of pictures of gardeny type stuff. Lots.

Indiana musk melonnasturtium in the gardenblack eyed susansbeans!Queen Anne's lace and fenceFunny looking beanmatersconeflowers in the sun

Yep. Lots!

Sigh. My porch is so nice. I wish you all could come over and sit with me and knit. But speaking of that, I have to go now. I have to go sit on a porch (not mine) and drink martinis and knit with The Best Knitting Group Ever (TM). Wanna come?

.
.
.
*For the curious: Stacey was playing with Wish Bear, who was a girl bear, and she made her say, “I have to go powder my nose.” So I felt I should make my bear go to the bathroom, too. The trouble was, I was playing with Love-A-Lot bear, who was a boy bear. My seven-year-old mind worked feverishly. What the heck did boys say when they had to go to the bathroom? Coming up with nothing, I blurted out, “I have to go polish my dick!” And then, as you might imagine, hilarity ensued.

